Kauai Morning

Twilight for the morning, Kauai

At 6am I followed the path out of the condo complex and asked directions to the beach. The dude told me it was too far to walk. I walked to the Hyatt and out to the beach to watch the sunrise. There must have been 30 people all doing the exact same thing – spiritually, purposefully, and they’ll go back to work Monday to put a Kauai sunrise on their desks.
For my desk at my office, Kauai
For my desk at my office

This area is Disneylandy, it’s hard to escape. (Two real advertisements: 1) “Nature’s Disneyland” 2) “Guaranteed Dolphins!”) It’s this ugly parody of itself, luaus and whatever. They’re the things that made Hawaiian culture unique and whites adopted the practices innocently, as ex-pats do in countries around the world, then the original practitioners were shoved aside and now we have luaus and flowered shirts and mai tais as gestures to escape, not to the sanctity of a particular home.

It was hard to walk the beach and not let my anger rise with the sun, but I managed. I see what this trip is and how little potential it has for depth in only 3 days and I’m thankful for what I’m getting.

I forget how lucky I am to see the top of a cloud. Geographically, this is distinct from Polynesia and the land farthest from any continent on earth, and yet I’m here painlessly, watching Azure sleep.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Kauai Morning

  1. Anonymous

    Yes, that’s my impression of Hawaii of late too. You have to back pack into the canyon or along the NaPali coast to really ‘get it’ about Hawaii.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

