Made it to Nice!

IMG_1914
IMG_1919IMG_1923
IMG_1922IMG_1917

Today’s Route

The last two weeks have absolutely thrashed me between the miserable cold and the beauty of this country. I’m physically, mentally and emotionally exhausted and Azure comes in tomorrow and we’re going to get a hotel room and hopefully just lay around for two days. I’m ready to turn off my brain for a while.

If I lived every day like this I’d age fast but live forever. Every day feels like ten and I’ll often think back on a place and wonder when I went through there, and it had been the day before, but hundreds of kilometers back. I’d seen so much in between that the memory had been shaken loose already.

For the last week it’s been literally good day, bad day, good day, bad day, depending on the weather. If Azure weren’t meeting me in Nice I’d have stopped in places for the rainy days and wandered the town, but I had to get here so I pushed through the cold, wet, windy, ugly days. On the scooter, the goodness or badness of a day is multiplied.

Today was the best day yet, though, stunning from start to finish, from Aix-en-Provence (which I really liked) through Provence, through the mountains to the coast. Then I drove up the famous coast from St. Raphael to Cannes, Antibes and finally Nice. It was long, but I’m so happy to be here.

Route of the first two weeks. I’ve driven over 1500 km since leaving Paris. Still in one piece. It’s been so much more difficult than I could have imagined.

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “Made it to Nice!

  1. Ingrid Vyhmeister

    Hi Mike-
    Just wanted to let you know I have been following along since you left Seattle. Great pics and notes. FYI – my dad (Alex Tichy) grew up in St. Raphael, etc… for several years during WW2. Glad to hear you made it safe and sound to the beach. I am so jealous of all the great meals you are having!
    Have a good rest – sounds like you have seriously earned it.
    Ingrid (Woodway, Washington)

  2. Thanks Ingrid – I’d forgotten he was from here! I’ll have to take some pictures if we go back through.

    (Can he suggest any good places to eat?)

    Funny that last year I was in Porto Alegre…

Leave a Reply

