My Birthday: A typical day for food

IMG_4742
IMG_9838IMG_4743
IMG_9423IMG_9723
IMG_9856
by Azure

My birthday was a typical day here at the chateau. I got up and started working on our painting project in the morning. At around 1pm we stopped for lunch. Since it got sunny last week, we have been having lunches out on the back patio under the columns. Mike made a tomato sauce (tomato, red pepper, eggplant, zucchini) with an egg in it over pasta and we had a mache salad with beets, kiwi and tomatoes.

For the “special” birthday dinner, we started with Kir Royals on the patio with creme fraiche and smoked salmon and caviar (caviar is pretty normal here, cheap and easy to find). Even though it was just the six of us, we still ate in the fireplace room, since I love it so much.

IMG_9714
IMG_9721IMG_9719
IMG_9725IMG_9712
IMG_9720

Mike made a chicken caccitore with potatoes and I made an unsuccessful Oeufs a la Neige (Eggs in snow?). The neige turned into a baked pancake when it should have been a fluffy snowy thing that sits in english cream. Luckily, Linda had made a walnut and chocolate flat-cake, so we put that in the creme. I drank Negrita and coke all night, the others had their choice of red or white wine.

IMG_9746
IMG_9745IMG_9742
IMG_9732
IMG_9737

After dinner, we talked by the fire and I got some beautiful soaps and some stiff french linens from everyone. Mike got me treats, popcorn, the Negrita and coke and some mache seeds for taking home. It was a lovely day to add to the list of lovely days here. It feels like everyday is my birthday!

3 Comments

Filed under Chateau St. Julien L'Ars, Europe, France

3 responses to “My Birthday: A typical day for food

  1. A

    Hi guys, just though I would drop a line and let you know that I love ready your blog! I’ve always wondered what your lens of choice is for your 5d?

  2. JoAnne

    Oh, I love it. I think you should spend all your birthdays like that. Love you lots

  3. susan goldstein

    What a memorable birthday. Who did the dishes?

Leave a Reply

