Inspiring travel sites


A couple in their Pissos, France home

Bert Teunissen photographs people in their own kitchens and dining rooms in a series called “Domestic Landscapes.” The photos are gorgeous, shot inside by natural light, but they’re also uncomfortably intimate like we’re looking at the inside of a person’s skin, not just their kitchen. Most of the series are shot in Europe (it’s broken up by country on the website) but there’s one series from Japan during which I kept asking, “Why is he shooting these people at a restaurant?” I guess I’ve never been in a Japanese home….

I’ve spent a lot of time in people’s houses as well, but in the US I rarely come across a home that exhibits a personality’s corners the way Teunissen’s European homes do.

The other website I’ve been loving is the David Lynch Interview Project. The filmmaker has sent a team across the US to conduct four-minute interviews with locals and they talk on a variety of subjects, but often about themselves.

While window washing I’ve had a lot of four-minute conversations and though I don’t think such passing glances can give a full picture of a person’s life, it tells you what they want you to hear in four minutes.

4 Comments

Filed under Europe, France, Links, USA

4 responses to “Inspiring travel sites

  1. Susan Goldstein

    I wonder what I’d say if I only had 4 minutes? And if it was being filmed. Profound? Banal?

  2. Usually I do not read article on blogs, but I would like
    to say that this write-up very pressured me to check
    out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed
    me. Thanks, quite great post.

  3. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting a little research on this. And he in fact bought me lunch because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this matter here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

